Why? Answer: Why?

why

A few years ago, I had the honour of experiencing one of my nephews in arguably the most awesome phase of life, the Why phase. It didn’t matter what the conversation was about, it would always be interrupted with a “Why?”. Typically, some adult would give an appropriate answer, which would be followed by another wide-eyed “Why?”.  After about five or six answers and more “Why’s” you come to the limit of your accumulated  knowledge and realize that you really don’t know that much after all. Eventually you come up with a random answer that will end the conversation.

Anyone who grew up in a God and church loving family can testify that it can be very easy to take Jesus for granted. I was first confronted with this in high school where, as a Christian, I was in the minority. I would get questions like, “How can you believe that stuff?”, “What about science?” etc. As a result I started asking a few questions myself, all of them beginning with “Why”. Why do I believe? Why do I go to church? The more I grow in my faith, the more I see the value in taking a break every now and again and asking myself these Why’s. It’s a kind of stock taking. Usually it starts out with a question pertaining to the situation I’m in. From there, with each Why, the circle gets bigger and I get closer to the core of my faith. I think example helps here.

Q: Markus, do you go to church?

A:   I go to services on Sundays, yes.

Q: Why?

A: Because I want to experience God?

Q: Why?

A: Because I love him. It’s a kind of quality time, like a date.

Q: Why can’t you have that by yourself?

A: I can, but it’s only really complete if it’s in fellowship with others.

Q: Why?

A: Serving each other shows Jesus’ love.

And so on and on it goes until you get to:

Q: Why do you believe in Jesus?

A: I’ve experienced Him, His love and peace and it’s unlike anything in the world. He loves me and so I want to love him back.

And then the cracker:

Q: Why does Jesus love you?

Answer: No reason whatsoever.

It’s refreshing to think about who Jesus is and what He’s done for me as if I’d just found out myself.  All the other complicated theological stuff that can be confusing and really distract me from my relationship with Him, becomes secondary.

I think maybe my nephews should write a few blog posts.

Leave a Reply

